Tuesday Tune – Cold War Kids

Photo by Maryanne Ventrice

Photo by Maryanne Ventrice

Let me set the scene for you. It was January, 2011. In about a week, a huge flood would inundate Brisbane, the city I was then living in. I was at Sunset Sounds, a now defunct music festival.

As the first of the rain that brought the flood started to fall, I was being jostled about in the crowd at the mainstage. A familiar bass riff started, everyone surged forward, and Cold War Kids started playing ‘Hang Me Up To Dry’. It’s one of my favourite live music memories I have.

I’m a big fan of their first album, Robbers & Cowards, and their follow up releases have been solid, but different. They’ve just released a new single, and I’m loving the return to the sound of the era of that first release.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

